Charles Jencks is Trustee and Co-founder of Maggie's Centres, a charity that has become influential for its enlightened provision of uplifting environments for cancer care, designed by some of the worlds most renowned architects. Maggie Keswick Jencks (1941-1995) developed the idea of a Cancer Caring Centre, along with her friends, Laura Lee, the CEO of Maggie's, Marcia Blakenham, and Charles. A short history of this is recounted in 2010 and her booklet 1997(ed. Marcia Blakenham).

Maggie's Centres can be found in the following locations:

"Above all, what matters is not to lose the joy of living in the fear of dying"

Maggie Keswick Jencks

Edinburgh 1996, Architect Richard Murphy; Landscape Architect Emma Keswick Merseyside at The Clatterbridge

Glasgow (Gatehouse) 2002, Architect David Page; Landscape Architect Forth Valley, Architect Carmody Groarke

Dundee 2003, Architect Frank Gehry; Landscape Architect Arabella Lennox-Boyd Manchester, The Christie, 2015, Architect Lord Foster; Landscape Architect Dan Pearson

Highlands 2005, Architect David Page; Landscape Architect London St Bartholomew's 2015, Architect Stephen Holl, Landscape Christopher Bradley-Hole

Fife 2006, Architect Zaha Hadid

London 2008, Architect Lord Richard Rogers; Landscape Architect Dan Pearson Future Planned

Cheltenham 2010, Sir Richard MacCormac; Landscape Architect Dr Christine Facer Hoffman Cardiff, South East Wales, Architect Dow Jones

Glasgow (Gartnavel) 2011, Architect Rem Koolhaas; Landscape Architect Lily Jencks Southhampton

Nottingham 2011, Architect Piers Gough CBE Yorkshire

South West Wales 2011, Architect Kisho Kurokawa; Landscape Architect Kim Wilkie Barcelona

Hong Kong 2013 Architect Frank Gehry; Landscape Architect Lily Jencks Oldham

Newcastle 2013 Architect Ted Cullinan The Royal Marsden

Aberdeen 2013 Architect Snøhetta

Lanarkshire 2014, Architect Neil Gillespie; Landscape Architect rankinfraser

Oxford 2015, Architect Chris Wilkinson & Jim Eyre; Landscape Architect Flora Gathorne Hardy

Wallace (Cambridge)

No Frame